Abortion Policy in Texas

With an anti-abortion majority at the Supreme Court, the future of abortion access is in greater peril than ever. Anti-abortion lawmakers have pushed the most extreme bans in hopes of Roe v. Wade falling, but they don’t control our destinies — you do.

Together, we can take our power back right here at home, hold lawmakers accountable, and restore abortion access for all Texans.

Hold Them Accountable

This session, Texas lawmakers passed SB 8, the most extreme abortion ban in the country.

The Texas ban is unlike any ban ever filed or passed. It not only bans abortion before many people know they’re pregnant — it also allows any person, anywhere, to sue providers, abortion funds, and family members for any perceived violation of the ban.

SB 8 has no exceptions for rape, incest, or fetal anomaly. The ban is so far-reaching it would allow out-of-state anti-abortion groups to sue the family members of rape victims for driving a patient to a clinic.

Now more than ever, we need abortion access supporters like you to step up and fight for Texas. Become a sustaining supporter of Avow and make a commitment to deep organizing in key districts to hold anti-abortion lawmakers accountable and restore abortion access.

If you’ve saved your payment information with ActBlue Express, your recurring monthly donation will go through immediately:

Take Action

Did your lawmakers vote for the most extreme abortion ban in the country? Avow to hold them accountable and take the pledge to restore abortion rights. 

Lookup your legislators here.


Allison, Steve (R) HD 121, San Antonio

Anderson, Charles “Doc” (R) HD 56, Waco

Ashby, Trent (R), HD 57, Lufkin

Bailes, Ernest (R), HD 18, Shepherd

Bell Jr, Cecil (R), HD 3, Magnolia

Bell, Keith (R), HD 4, Forney

Biedermann, Kyle (R), HD 73 Fredericksburg

Bonnen, Greg (R), HD 24, Friendswood

Buckley, Brad (R), HD 54, Killeen

Burns, DeWayne (R), HD 58, Cleburne

Burrows, Dustin (R), HD 83, Lubbock

Button, Angie Chen (R), HD 112, Richardson

Cain, Briscoe (R), HD 128, Deer Park

Capriglione, Giovanni (R), HD 98, Southlake

Cason, Jeff (R), HD 92, Bedford

Cook, David (R), HD 96, Mansfield

Craddick, Tom (R), HD 82, Midland

Cyrier, John (R), HD 17, Lockhart

Darby, Drew (R), HD 72, San Angelo

Dean, Jay (R), HD 7, Longview

Ellzey, Jake (R), HD 10, Waxahachie

Frank, James (R), HD 69, Wichita Falls

Frullo, John (R), HD 84, Lubbock

Gates, Gary (R), HD 28, Fort Bend

Geren, Charlie (R), HD 99, Fort Worth

Goldman, Craig (R), HD 97, Fort Worth

Guillen, Ryan (D), HD 31, Rio Grande City

Harless, E. Sam (R), HD 126, Spring

Harris, Cody (R), HD 8, Palestine

Hefner, Cole (R), HD 5, Mt. Pleasant

Holland, Justin (R), HD 33, Rockwall

Huberty, Dan (R), HD 127, Houston

Hull, Lacey (R), HD 138, Houston

Hunter, Todd (R), HD 32, Corpus Christi

Jetton, Jacey (R), HD 26, Sugar Land

Kacal, Kyle (R), HD 12, College Station

King, Ken (R), HD 88, Canadian

King, Phil (R), HD 61, Weatherford

Klick, Stephanie (R), HD 91, Fort Worth

Krause, Matt (R), HD 93, Fort Worth

Kuempel, John (R), HD 44, Seguin

Lambert, Stan (R), HB 71, Abilene

Landgraf, Brooks (R), HD 81, Odessa

Larson, Lyle (R), HD 122, San Antonio

Leach, Jeff (R), HD 67, Plano

Leman, Ben (R), HD 13, Anderson

Lozano, J.M. (R), HD 43, Kingsville

Metcalf, Will (R), HD 16, Conroe

Meyer, Morgan (R), HD 108, Dallas

Middleton, Mayes (R), HD 23, Wallisville

Morrison, Geanie W. (R), HD 30, Victoria

Murphy, Jim (R), HD 133, Houston

Murr, Andrew S. (R), HD 53, Junction

Noble, Candy (R), HD 89, Allen

Oliverson, Tom (R), HD 130, Cypress

Paddie, Chris (R), HD 9, Marshall

Parker, Tan (R), HD 63, Flower Mound

Patterson, Jared (R), HD 106, Frisco 

Paul, Dennis (R), HD 129, Houston

Price, Four (R), HD 87, Amarillo

Raney, John (R), HD 14, College Station

Rogers, Glenn (R), HD 60, Palo Pinto County

Sanford, Scott (R), HD 70, McKinney

Schaefer, Matt (R), HD 6, Tyler

Schofield, Mike (R), HD 132, Houston

Shaheen, Matt (R), HD 66, Plano

Shine, Hugh D. (R), HD 55, Temple

Slaton, Bryan (R), HD 2, Greenville

Slawson, Shelby (R), HD 59, Gatesville

Smith, Reggie (R), HD 62, Sherman

Smithee, John (R), HD 86, Amarillo

Spiller, David (R), HD 68, Muenster

Stephenson, Phil (R), HD 85, Wharton

Stucky, Lynn (R), HD 64, Denton

Swanson, Valoree (R), HD 150, Spring

Thompson, Ed (R), HD 29, Pearland

Tinderholt, Tony (R), HD 94, Arlington

Toth, Steve (R), HD 15, The Woodlands

VanDeaver, Gary (R), HD 1, New Boston

Vasut, Cody (R), HD 25, Bay City

White, James (R), HD 19, Hillister

Wilson, Terry (R), HD 20, Marble Falls


Bettencourt, Paul (R), SD 7, Houston

Birdwell, Brian (R), SD 22, Granbury

Buckingham, Dawn (R), SD 24, Lakeway

Campbell, Donna (R), SD 25, New Braunfels

Creighton, Brandon (R), SD 4, Conroe

Hall, Bob (R), SD 2, Edgewood

Hancock, Kelly (R), SD 9, North Richland Hills

Huffman, Joan (R), SD 17, Houston

Hughes, Bryan (R), SD 1, Mineola

Kolkhorst, Lois (R), SD 18, Brenham

Lucio, Jr., Eddie (D), SD 27, Brownsville

Nelson, Jane (R), SD 12, Flower Mound

Nichols, Robert (R), SD 3, Jacksonville

Paxton, Angela (R), SD 8, McKinney

Perry, Charles (R), SD 28, Lubbock

Schwertner, Charles (R), SD 5, Georgetown

Seliger, Kel (R), SD 31, Amarillo

Springer, Drew (R), SD 30, Prosper

Taylor, Larry (R), SD 11, Friendswood


Join the Action Team

Want to fight back against anti-abortion extremists and support abortion access in Texas? Join our Action Team now to get the most up-to-date alerts on what’s going on at the Capitol and around the state — and how you can stand up for abortion rights.

Sign up by texting ACTION to 833-947-3755.

BREAKING: Supreme Court Overturns Roe v Wade

Texas could soon criminalize all abortion. But together, we still have the power to take back our futures. Right now, Avow canvassers are working in the field and talking to voters about what abortion access means to our communities.

When we win back abortion rights at the state level, no out-of-touch, extreme judge will ever have the power to take it away again. Rush a donation and commit to restoring abortion access in Texas.

If you’ve saved your payment information with ActBlue Express, your donation will go through immediately:


SB 8 bans abortion as early as 6 weeks and puts a $10,000 bounty on anyone who helps someone get abortion care. Now more than ever, we need unapologetic abortion rights advocates to lay the groundwork to defeat anti-abortion lawmakers.

Chip in to organize Texans to restore abortion access in our state. The organizing we do today determines the gains we make in 2022.

If you’ve saved your payment information with ActBlue Express, your donation will go through immediately:

NARAL Pro-Choice Texas is now Avow!

To avow means to declare openly, bluntly, and without shame. Now more than ever, our state needs bold and unapologetic advocacy for abortion rights.

As an independent, Texas-based organization, Avow will continue our work at the state and local level — where the decisions that most impact Texans are happening.

Together, we can build a Texas where every person is trusted, thriving, and free to pursue the life they want.

Learn more about our new name, inspired by bold and unapologetic abortion advocates like you!